Judicial Branch

The ASUU Judicial Branch is comprised of the Supreme Court and the Attorney General. The Supreme Court consists of six Associate Justices and one Chief Justice, who are appointed for the duration of their time as students at the University. The Supreme Court has the power of constitutional review on any action taken by any and all members, groups, and bodies of ASUU. The initiation of such action must be by a member of the ASUU, and can be done by completing the ASUU Complaint Filing Form and emailing it to the Legislative Advisor. The Supreme Court holds the power to subpoena, the power to order, the power to enjoin, the power to compel by sanction on penalty, the power to render findings, and—subject to approval of the Assembly and Senate—to propose Judicial Branch Bylaws and procedures. The Attorney General is an elected position, serving a one-year term. The Attorney General acts as ASUU counsel and advises the legislative and executive bodies on compliance with the ASUU Constitution and Bylaws. If you would like to request a formal opinion from the Attorney General, please fill out the Redbook Interpretation Request Form and send it to Seodam Kwak.

Attorney General

Seodam Kwak

Attorney General Interpretations, 2018-2019

Bylaws III § 4 (2.5) Interpretation
Bylaws I.I § 11 (1) Interpretation
Bylaws I § 2 (2.1) Interpretation
Redbook II § 2 (1) Interpretation
Bylaws IV § 14 Interpretation

Run for the Attorney General for the 2020-2021 Academic Year. Refer to the Elections page for more information.

Supreme Court

All Supreme Court Hearings are open to the public and will also be recorded. Supreme Court Justice post-hearing deliberations are private.

Chief Justice: Vacant
Associate Justice: Chandler Blount
Associate Justice: Tanvi Singh
Associate Justice: Mihali Sergakis
Associate Justice: Anna Kaufman
Associate Justice: Vacant
Associate Justice: Vacant
Clerk of the Court: Legislative Advisor
Interested in filling a vacant Supreme Court position? Contact President Anna Barnes.